Daredevil #173

Hello, I’m a unicorn. Judging from my last review, you’d probably think that I hate Frank Miller. That’s not the case. I can’t hate a man I don’t know and I do respect what he has done for the medium. I own three collected trade volumes of his run on Daredevil and the Dark Knight Returns. The Spirit made me really angry because, like I said, I am a fan of the character. The movie didn’t do the genius of Will Eisner’s character justice. I still despise the movie, but I also recognize the work that went in it.

So, are you going to review the comic or ease your guilty conscience about any slight you have made against the man?

I’m not apologizing, I’m just stating the facts about how I feel about Frank Miller.

Spoken like a true politician.

Have I ever told you how annoying you are?

Yes, many times.

*sigh* Look, my point is that I still meant every word of what I wrote and despise the movie, but I don’t despise the man.

So, today, let’s look at a decent comic by Frank Miller. I’m not going to look at one of his best ones because I’d have nothing to talk about. So, let’s look at a flawed yet decent in the scheme of things comic. Like Man of Steel, I’ll break it down to the good and the ugly. This is because the good is really good and the ugly is really ugly. There isn’t much in between. Because the ugly has something to do with the good, let’s start with the ugly.

The Ugly: Matt Murdock behaves way out of character. In this story he finds out that his secretary was crippled three years prior by a man bearing a striking resemblance to his client. When he finds out that she never reported the fact that she’d seen his face, he starts berating her. Matt is a criminal lawyer. He, of all people, should know to show empathy for a victim of a crime, especially one as traumatic as what his secretary went though. He’s probably represented victims in her position, and he barely knew them. This is his friend. If I found out that a friend knew who had committed a crime against her but didn’t say anything because she felt helpless, I’d never berate her like Matt did. No functioning human being would berate that type of victim, especially not  one who’s job is to represent them.

The Good: Pretty much the rest of the comic. Matt does learn that he’s in the wrong and that he should have been empathetic. Like I said though, this is something he should have already known. The art is good and Frank Miller really knew how to use quiet moments to let the art speak for itself, especially at the end when Becky, the secretary, is debating about whether she should testify. Those ten panels were the best in the comic.  The writing in the rest of the story is really good.

Overall, It’s worth a read. The writing for the most part was good, with the exception of the break in Matt’s character. The art is really nice and colorful. This issue wasn’t all that bad, but it was the worst in the two trade volumes that I own. I think that speaks a lot about Frank Miller’s 1980s run on Daredevil.

So, while we’re on the subject of Daredevil, how do you feel about Ben Affleck being the new Batman?

I’m willing to give him a shot. After all, everyone that Heath Ledger and Michael Keaton were going to be awful. He’s a really good actor and I didn’t mind him as Matt Murdoch. Was he the best for the role? Probably not, but he wasn’t awful. Now that I’ve thought about  it, his performance in Daredevil as Matt Murdoch does remind me a bit of Bruce Wayne’s jerky playboy persona and he did put a separation between the persona of Matt and the persona of Daredevil. I will probably review the movie, but there is a soft spot in my heart for it. This is the movie that got me interested in Daredevil as a character. All in all, I think that the hate he’s been given is unnecessary and I’m going to give him a chance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic Books

Leave a Reply

