The Fault in Our Stars By John Green

Hello, I’m a unicorn. You remember how I said in my last post that I was probably going to review horror themed works for the next month? I lied.

You WHAT?! How dare you be dishonest with your rabid readers!

Look Textbox, I wasn’t planning on deceiving our wonderful readers. It just sort of happened. And, to be fair, this book was worth the accidental deception. The Fault in Our Stars is, in a word, wonderful. This is coming from someone who has been on a steady diet of comic books and hasn’t read a real, non school assignment, novel in about four months. And I devoured this book in a single afternoon, enjoying every word of it.

It’s the story of Hazel Lancaster, a teenage girl with terminal cancer. She’s living on borrowed time when she meets and falls in love with Augustus Waters in a cancer support group. That’s about all I want to say about the plot because I really, really, really, really don’t want to spoil it. The story is just that good.

I don’t quite know where to begin with the praises. In a book about cancer, it was much funnier than I expected. Even though we know from the start that our heroine is dying, there still is an air of hope and joy. Hazel may have cancer, but it’s not going to get the best of her. I laughed out loud at many points and truly rooted for her and Augustus. Of all the young adult romances that I’ve read, theirs was the most believable and sweet. This is coming from someone who usually dislikes romances in books (looking at you Mockingjay).

Not being much of a crier in when I read, I didn’t really tear up, but many other people who’d read it did. And with good reason. This book has found the perfect balance between comedy and tragedy that had me laughing and gasping until the end. I only had one nitpick, and when I say nitpick, I mean nitpick. Hazel said that V for Vendetta was a boys movie and that made me roll my eyes. But that is more about my nuttiness when it comes to comics, especially  classics like V for Vendetta, than anything Mr. Green did. It also made sense for the character, so, like I said, it’s just my comic-loving craziness. I only bring this up because it is literally, not figuratively, literally the only gripe I have with the story. The rest of it is beautifully written, with very real characters, and will stay with me for a long time.

Usually, when I close with “what are your waiting for? Read it now,” I mean that you should read it eventually, but this time I really mean it. You need to go out, buy this book, and read it as soon as possible. The characters are fleshed out and memorable, the story heartrending and funny, and easily one of the best stories I’ve read in a long time. So read it and don’t forget to be awesome!

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “The Fault in Our Stars By John Green

  1. Pingback: THE BOOK THAT CHANGED MY LIFE. | Noor Usmans blog

  2. Pingback: Batman: The Black Mirror Trade Collection | The Unicorn Comic

  3. Pingback: Batman The Black Mirror Trade Collection | The Unicorn Comic The Unicorn Comic

Leave a Reply

